Thesis It: Part 2

2

Every semester feels this way, at first I get so excited with all the new classes, professors and adventures the months have in stored for me. Fast-forward to midsem and it feels like I want the sem to be over already (what more when hell week month begins).

Despite the sudden i-want-this-to-be-over-with outbursts of emotion, I’ve been feeling more optimistic about my thesis topic. If you’ve read my first Thesis It post, I didn’t become an instant fan of the topic my thesis faculty advised me to take on. But after spending much time on Google, Archdaily, and of course, the library, I’ve realized that my thesis is has a lot of potential than I initially gave it credit for.

There were two major things that influenced my perception: researching and interviewing. As I researched and made my topic more specific, I discovered existing buildings and proposed projects that have helped me greatly in my research and architectural programming (thank God for the internet). Since this is a thesis and not just any design class we got used to, the project has to be more research-based and every detail must be quantified or qualified by a fact or another. In order to sustain your arguments and assumptions, you must go through a helluva research process. In addition to my primary research, I’ve done interviews with Multimedia Arts and Fine Arts students from UP and CSB to find out if my assumptions were true. One interviewee that got me really hyped for my thesis is Mary, a MMA fresh graduate from Benilde. She was really kind and chatty (in a good way), and gave me basic info I need to know to build the foundations for my thesis.

Another experience that motivated me was after watching the Above the Clouds screening in Arki (thank you, ASAPHIL-UP). Actually, the movie wasn’t exactly the thing that pumped me, but the Q&A portion with the production designers afterwards. They were all UP alumni and work in the independent production scene, which is the main market of my topic. They were really inspiring because even if they know how little revenue and appreciation they get from indie films, they continue to work and produce quality art. Their personal accounts of how underappreciated and underfunded the independent film industry is in the country made me realize the importance of my thesis and how much I should value, work, and strive to make it the best I can, even if it’s just hypothetical.

Unfortunately, the thesis process is not always inspiring. Countless hours on researches and revisions eventually takes its toll on you. Now, my pre-thesis self is now gravely disappointed with my midterm self because of the past submissions I’ve been handing out to my faculty and adviser. No, they were not crap at all, but I know for myself that I could’ve done way better.

Despite the shortcomings, I’ve learned a valuable lesson: You must trust the process, and somehow you’ll find yourself even more passionate than when you started.

And don’t procrastinate. Nothing comes good out of it. 

Leave a Reply

