Thesis It: Part 1

1

Because this is my fifth and final year (hopefully) in college, I thought of documenting my progress. This is to remind me of how far I’ve gone when I get confused, frustrated and lost in the process of accomplishing my goal. (Yes, I know. The title is so cliche. But I couldn’t think of a more catchy one.)

I’ve heard so many stories of students frantic during their thesis years. Most of them don’t sleep a lot, especially when the deadline nears. For an architecture student, a thesis is not merely a compilation of printed research bounded into a book, it’s way, way more than that. Oh, the countless hours I’ve dedicated in thinking [creatively and critically]. — thinking of what building I should design, thinking what form should create, thinking what theories should I apply, thinking what spaces I should provide, thinking what kind of users and activities I should consider, thinking how will I render the design, thinking how will I layout the presentation boards, and so on.

Designing is an endless process. What you plan to do in the beginning may not be the end-product. And in the “designing” profession, it always isn’t. Your design goes through revision after revision, and sometimes it takes it toll. For me (and most of the people I know), that happens most of the time. Professors and peers often criticize your work. Some are nice but there are others who will plainly say, “This sucks, revise it.” It pierces your heart but it’s for the better. In the end, you’ll thank them anyway.

So how all of this rambling related to my thesis? Beats me. Haha, just kidding. As I am writing this, I’m looking for a site for my approved thesis topic. Sadly, I didn’t get what I wanted but the second choice is good enough to work around with. I’m actually excited to start planning and form-finding (my weakness).

Now for my future thesis self: to remind myself to calm down and never stop. No matter how many rejections you have to accept and revisions you have to deal with, don’t stop. Never stop motivating yourself and look for inspiration when you are trapped. Believe in yourself because it won’t work unless you do. You have to love the process and love what you do. 

 

Leave a Reply

